Welcome back.

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged. It felt weird not to be writing, but it was nice to take a break. A much-needed break. But after going to Chicago and working all summer it feels nice to be back in school and in the full swing of things.

When I started this program, I originally wanted to go into Journalism or PR. I ran into a past CreComm grad (whose name I can’t remember) and told him that’s what I wanted to do. He said to me that I was going to end up going into Advertising. I didn’t think he could be more wrong, but he was definitely right. I’m in Ad now and I couldn’t be happier.

Sure, I had doubts when I was choosing my major last year. I knew I could always switch majors if I had a change of heart over the summer, but I was still a bit weary. “Is this really what I want to do?” “Am I making the right choice?” The thing that scared me the most is the uncertainty. Second year Ad is so different than first. It’s also risky choosing to go  into a major with a new instructor you don’t know or are familiar with.

I rarely, if ever, have those lightbulb moments where you go “aha!” and everything just clicks. Something about today just made me stop and think, “Yeah. I’m where I need to be. I’m in the right place.” It’s probably because we watched a TV show about advertising (The Pitch) and met a real-life client who is actually going to look at our work. But looking back to the classes during the past three weeks of school, the things I’ve learned are so relevant and applicable to my life. Now I know that my Myers-Briggs personality type is ESTJ, and  my sister is an INFP. (We could not be any more different.)

Back in high school and university, I hated taking courses and learning about things that I knew I wasn’t going to use in my daily life after school. As much as I loved English class, I hated having to read literary books that would bore me and having to decipher them for the “deeper meaning.” Don’t even get me started on poetry. I just don’t get it. What’s the point of writing something if there’s another meaning to it? If there’s one thing CreComm has told me, it’s to write what you mean and be clear. And show, don’t tell. I also know I’m in the right place because every time someone brings up math or science everyone just groans.

I’m going to keep this post short and sweet. I needed to get this off my chest, and I feel a lot better now that I’ve written it down and let it out. I probably won’t be blogging regularly throughout the year, but I’ll keep it around for when I feel the need to share.

Leave a Reply

